

47th Opera House Cup Regatta

August 18, 2019

Registered: 61 Started: 56 Finished: 55 Course: K, shortened at A mark to 5.861 NM due to wind dying Winds: 315 - 320°, 5 - 6 knots

OVERALL OHC WINNERS

OHC CRUISING DIVISION

1 EROS, Buzz Goodall 2 DORADE, Matt Brooks 3 VORTEX, Steve White

OHC DAY RACING DIVISION

WEATHERLY, Elliot Gewirtz
VALIANT, Gary Gregory

3 ONAWA, Deborah Hoadley

FIRST TO FINISH - best elapsed time

WEATHERLY, Elliot Gewirtz

CLASS WINNERS

SCHOONER CLASS

EROS, Buzz Goodall
LYNX, Alexander Peacock
XARIFA 1927, Diego Masso

ALERION CLASS

1 RHAPSODY, Chad Kilvert

- 2 FORTUNA, Bill Liddle
- 3 MYTH, Tom Giovine

12 METRE CLASS

1 WEATHERLY, Elliot Gewirtz

- 2 VALIANT, Gary Gregory
- 3 ONAWA, Deborah Hoadley

46th OPERA HOUSE CUP REGATTA RESULTS

GWEN GAILLARD SPIRIT OF THE RACE AWARD

EMPRESS OF BLANDINGS, homeport: Blandings Castle, for their sense of fun and great outfits

ROBERT H. TIEDEMANN AWARD for Best Maintained or Restored Yacht

XARIFA 1927, homeport: Vigo, Spain, Three-mast Bermudian schooner, designed by JM Soper and built by Samuel White & Sons; refit in 2014

PERFORMANCE AWARDS

WACHIWI, Barney Walker --- 1902 Herreshoff sloop and oldest yacht in the fleet SPARTAN, Charley Ryan – 1913 Herreshoff New York 50, and fastest vintage classic yacht in the fleet UNCLE BENNY, Samuel Lawrence – 1928 Wianno Senior, for their performance despite the conditions and assistance with building the Wianno fleet for the OHC

PERSISTENCE TROPHY – for hanging in there and crossing the finish line last UNA, Rick Nopper

OHC SPONSORSHIP TROPHY – for the OHC skipper or boat making the largest donation to NCS DOLPHIN, Brian Simmons

SPARKMAN & STEPHEN'S TROPHY for the best corrected time for an S&S boat in the Nantucket Regatta and the Opera House Cup – DORADE, Matt Brooks, built in 1930

Nantucket Community Sailing would like to say thank you to our OHC competitors, race committee, volunteers, and sponsors. We could not do this event without the support of our sailing community friends and we are grateful.

August 18, 2019 16:34

Information is provisional and subject to modification Principal Race Officer: Hank Stuart Jury Chair: Timothea Larr