

presented by



46th Opera House Cup Regatta

August 19, 2018

Registered: 54 Started: 41 Finished: 41 Course: B, 19.852 NM Winds: 050°, 15-18 knots

OVERALL OHC WINNERS OHC CRUISING DIVISION

1 ABIGAIL, Jesse Terry 2 ANNIE, Phil Smith 3 FORTUNE, John Taft

OHC DAY RACING DIVISION

SENTEBALE, Sabine Leonhard Griffin
MAGIC, Oliver LaFarge
FORTUNA, Bill Liddle

CLASS WINNERS

SCHOONER CLASS1 JUNO, Scott DiBiaso2 BRILLIANT, Jonathan Kabak3 LYNX, Alexander Peacock

ALERION CLASS

SENTEBALE, Sabine Leonhard Griffin
MAGIC, Oliver LaFarge
FORTUNA, Bill Liddle

12 METRE CLASS

1 COLUMBIA, Mary Folliard/Kevin Hegarty 2 AMERICAN EAGLE, Elliott Gewirtz 3 WEATHERLY, Deborah Hoadley

46th OPERA HOUSE CUP REGATTA RESULTS

FIRST TO FINISH - best elapsed time

WILD HORSES, Donald Tofias

PANERAI BEST PERFORMANCE WINNER

JUNO, Scott DiBiaso

VINTAGE GRAND CLASSIC - 11 registered, 9 competed

1 JUNO, Scott DiBiaso 2 NIRVANA, David Ray 3 TICONDEROGA, Scott Frantz

VINTAGE CORINTHIAN YACHT – 14 registered, 10 competed

1 ABIGAIL, Jesse Terry 2 DOLPHIN, Brian Simmons 3 FORTUNE, John Taft

VINTAGE DAY RACER – 5 registered, 2 competed 1 ANNIE, Phil Smith 2 GAMECOCK, Peter McClennen

GRAND PRIX YACHT – SPIRIT OF TRADITION – 9 registered and competed

1 FANCY, Geoff Verney 2 ZINGARA, Chris Magee 3 BLACK FISH, Ron Zarrella

GRAND PRIX YACHT – TWELVE METRE - 3 registered and competed

COLUMBIA, Mary Folliard/Kevin Hegarty
AMERICAN EAGLE, Elliott Gewirtz
WEATHERLY, Deborah Hoadley

GRAND PRIX DAY RACER – 12 registered and 6 competed

SENTEBALE, Sabine Leonhard Griffin
MAGIC, Oliver LaFarge
FORTUNA, Bill Liddle

GWEN GAILLARD SPIRIT OF THE RACE AWARD

EROS, Buzz Goodall

ROBERT H. TIEDEMANN AWARD for Best Maintained or Restored Yacht DOLPHIN, Brian Simmons, a 1914 Newport 29 sloop designed by N.G. Herreshoff owned by Oakcliff Sailing and oldest boat in the OHC fleet today

PERFORMANCE AWARDS

BLACK WATCH, Peter McCausland – First over the line SONNY, Craig Venter – OCS but still ended with 7th best elapsed time LYNX, Alexander Peacock – Having a great day and finishing about two hours faster than they did last year

46th OPERA HOUSE CUP REGATTA RESULTS

PERSISTENCE TROPHY – for hanging in there and crossing the finish line last TYRONE, Matt Sutphin, and racing a schooner with only 3 people on board

OHC SPONSORSHIP TROPHY – for the OHC skipper or boat making the largest donation to NCS BAPPLE, Bruce Failing

CLASSIC YACHT OWNERS ASSOCIATION'S "BEST IN FLEET" AWARD – US Coast Guard Brant Point, Senior Chief Chris Swiatek, for rescue of Peter Cassidy/SIREN

SPARKMAN & STEPHEN'S TROPHY for the best corrected time for an S&S boat in the Nantucket Regatta and the Opera House Cup – BRILLIANT, Jonathan Kabak, built in 1932 and owned by Mystic Seaport

Nantucket Community Sailing would like to say thank you to our OHC competitors, race committee, volunteers, and sponsors. We could not do this event without the support of our sailing community friends and we are grateful.

August 20, 2018 1000

Information is provisional and subject to modification Principal Race Officer: Hank Stuart Jury Chair: Timothea Larr