

# 51st Opera House Cup Regatta Trophies

# August 20, 2023

Registered: 50 Started: 42 Finished: 42 Course: 6, 19.44 NM Wind: 280 degrees, 18 knots PRO: Hank Stuart Race Committee boat: SERENA

#### **OVERALL OHC WINNERS**

SIREN, 1936 Sparkman & Stephens New York 32, Skipper Peter Cassidy SEA HORSE, 2010 N. Herreshoff /Sanford sloop, Skipper Ron Zarrella

## FASTEST ELAPSED TIME

RANGER, 2003 rebuild of a 1936 Starling Burgess/Olin Stephens J Class sloop, Skipper Tom Aiken

## **DIVISION WINNERS**

#### VINTAGE DIVISION – 11 registered

- 1 SIREN, 1936 Sparkman & Stephens New York 32, Skipper Peter Cassidy
- 2 GENTIAN, 1936 Sparkman & Stephens New York 32, Skipper Ben Sperry
- 3 SANTANA, 1935 Sparkman & Stephens yawl, Skipper Wendy Schmidt

## **CLASSIC DIVISION – 8 registered**

1 RANGER, 2003 rebuild of a 1936 Starling Burgess/Olin Stephens design, Skipper Tom Aiken 2 COLUMBIA, 1958 Sparkman & Stephens 12M, Skippers Kevin Hegarty/Anthony Chiurco 3 AMERICAN EAGLE, 1964 A.E. Luders 12 Metre sloop, Skipper Jephtha Tausig

## CLASSIC CONCORDIA DIVISION – 4 registered

- 1 DAME, 1961 Ray Hunt Concordia 39 yawl, Skipper Nicholas Baxter
- 2 KATRINA, 1963 Ray Hunt Concordia 41 yawl, Skipper Thorpe Leeson
- 3 GRACE, 1961 Ray Hunt Concordia yawl, Skipper Michael Herde

## **SPIRIT OF TRADITION DIVISION – 9 registered**

- 1 BLACKFISH, 2017 Jim Taylor sloop, Skipper Carolyn Grant Zarrella
- 2 VORTEX, 1990 Knud Reimers 55 Sq Meter, Skipper Steven White
- 3 CAVALINO, 2010 Bob Stephens sloop, Skipper Mike Toppa

# 51<sup>st</sup> OPERA HOUSE CUP REGATTA RESULTS

## ALERION DIVISION – 9 registered

- 1 SEA HORSE, 2010 N. Herreshoff /Sanford sloop, Skipper Ron Zarrella
- 2 FORTUNA, 2017 N. Herreshoff/Sanford sloop, Skipper Bill Liddle
- 3 FIRST TRACKS, 2006 N. Herreshoff/Sanford sloop, Skipper Brian Simmons

## **INVITATIONAL DIVISION – 9 registered**

- 1 IOD BRAVO 2, 1985 Asa Bjorn sloop, Skipper Benjamin Kinney
- 2 IOD GOLF 4, 1985 Asa Bjorn sloop, Skipper Peter Ernst
- 3 IOD Nantucket High School Sailing Team 1, Skipper Rory Murray

## GWEN GAILLARD SPIRIT OF THE RACE AWARD

In memory of Neil Cocker for his many years of service to the sailing community and the OHC

**SPARKMAN & STEPHENS AWARD** for the best performance by an S&S boat SIREN, 1936 Sparkman & Stephens New York 32, Skipper Peter Cassidy

**CORINTHIAN AWARD** for an amateur or family-crewed boat Nantucket High School Sailing Team IOD, skippered by Rory Murray

**COMMODORES CUP** for the boat with the best performance in the Nantucket Regatta and OHC BLACK WATCH, 1938 Olin Stephens yawl, Skipper Austin Fragomen

#### PERFORMANCE AWARD

LYNX, 2001 replica of an 1812 privateer, skipper Sean Caniff

Nantucket Community Sailing would like to thank our OHC competitors, race committee, volunteers, and sponsors. We could not do this event without the support of our sailing community friends and we are grateful.

Information is provisional and subject to modification