

50th Opera House Cup Regatta Trophies

August 21, 2022

Registered: 57 Started: 52 Finished: 48 Course: 10, 14.60 NM PRO: Hank Stuart

OVERALL OHC WINNERS

- 1 ONAWA, 1928 Starling Burgess 12M, Skipper Chris Culver
- 2 BLACKFISH, 2017 Jim Taylor sloop, Skipper Carolyn Grant Zarrella
- 3 ANGELITA, 1929 Nicholas Potter 8M, Skipper Samuel Croll/Henry Skelsey

FASTEST ELAPSED TIME

OUTLIER, 2019 Marcelino Botin 55 sloop, Skipper Harvey Jones

DIVISION WINNERS

VINTAGE DIVISION – 17 registered

- 1 ONAWA, 1928 Starling Burgess 12M, Skipper Chris Culver
- 2 ANGELITA, 1929 Nicholas Potter 8M, Skippers Samuel Croll/Henry Skelsey
- 3 SANTANA, 1935 Sparkman & Stephens yawl, Skipper Wendy Schmidt

CLASSIC DIVISION – 13 registered

- 1 COLUMBIA, 1958 Sparkman & Stephens 12M, Skippers Kevin Hegarty/Anthony Chiurco
- 2 VALIANT, 1970 Olin Stephens 12M, Skipper Gary Gregory
- 3 NEFERTITI, 1962 Ted Hood 12M, Skipper Jack Klinck

SPIRIT OF TRADITION DIVISION – 9 registered

- 1 BLACKFISH, 2017 Jim Taylor sloop, Skipper Carolyn Grant Zarrella
- 2 OUTLIER, 2019 Marcelino Botin 55' sloop, Skipper Harvey Jones
- 3 WILD HORSES, 1998 Joel White W76 sloop, Owner Donald Tofias

ALERION DIVISION – 13 registered

- 1 FIRST TRACKS, 2006 N. Herreshoff sloop, Skipper Brian Simmons
- 2 SEA HORSE, 2010 N. Herreshoff /Sanford sloop, Skipper Ron Zarrella
- 3 RHAPSODY, 1981 N. Herreshoff sloop, Skipper Chad Kilvert

50th OPERA HOUSE CUP REGATTA RESULTS

VINTAGE CONCORDIA DIVISION – 4 registered

- 1 SUMMER WIND, 1964 Hunt/Howland Concordia 39 yawl, Skipper Dana Brackett
- 2 DAME, 1961 Ray Hunt Concordia 39 yawl, Skipper Nicholas Baxter
- 3 KATRINA, 1963 Ray Hunt Concordia 41 yawl, Skipper Thorpe Leeson

INVITATIONAL DIVISION – 1 registered

1 ZEMPHIRA, 2005 Bob Stephens/Brooklin Boat Yard sloop, Owner Tenacious Holdings LLC

GWEN GAILLARD SPIRIT OF THE RACE AWARD

KATRINA, skipper Thorpe Leeson with crew including Susan Tiedemann from the first OHC

ROBERT H. TIEDEMANN AWARD for the best restored boat

GLEAM, 1937 Clinton Crane 12M, recently restored to her glory, skipper Dennis Gunderson

SPARKMAN & STEPHENS AWARD for the best performance by an S&S boat COLUMBIA, 1958 Sparkman & Stephens 12M, Skippers Kevin Hegarty/Anthony Chiurco

CORINTHIAN AWARD for an amateur or family-crewed boat

UNCLE BENNY, 1928 H. Manley Crosby Wianno Senior, skipper Samuel Lawrence with his family for crew

COMMODORES CUP for the boat with the best performance in the Nantucket Regatta and OHC ONAWA, 1928 Starling Burgess 12M, Skipper Chris Culver

PERFORMANCE AWARD

GENTIAN, 1936 Sparkman & Stephens NY32 sloop, Skipper Ben Sperry

THANK YOU AWARDS

HANK STUART, Opera House Cup and Nantucket Regatta PRO LINDA McGRATH and BILL LIDDLE, OHC 50th Anniversary Gala co-chairs SANDY ADZICK and CARL JELLEME, Nantucket Race Week co-chairs

Nantucket Community Sailing would like to thank our OHC competitors, race committee, volunteers, and sponsors. We could not do this event without the support of our sailing community friends and we are grateful.

Information is provisional and subject to modification